PTSD
This is the "Home" page of the "Health and Wellness Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Health and Wellness Resources  

This LibGuide is a product of PTC Libraries' cooperation with the Health Committee for the 2010 Health Fair.
Last Updated: Jan 16, 2014 URL: http://libguides.pulaskitech.edu/healthandwellness Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Search the Catalog



 

General Reference Titles

Reference Books may not be taken from the Library.

Cover Art
Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine - Laurie J. Fundukian; Gale Group Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: Main: 2nd Floor Reference - RC41 .G35 2011
ISBN: 9781414486468
Publication Date: 2011-06-10
The updated edition of this authoritative, comprehensive, in-depth medical guide features information on more than 1,700 medical topics in language accessible to adult laypersons. Disease/disorder articles typically cover definition; description; causes and symptoms; diagnosis; treatments; prevention; and more. Test/treatment articles typically cover definition; purposes; precautions; preparation; risks; normal and abnormal results; and much more. Biographical and historical sidebars appear throughout the text. This edition includes new entries, updated entries, approximately 650 color images and illustrations, and a comprehensive subject index. Previous edition also available.

Cover Art
State Rankings 2010 Hardbound Edition - Scott Morgan (Editor)
Call Number: Main: 2nd Floor Reference: HA203 .S72 2010
ISBN: 9781604266153
Publication Date: 2010-04-15
State Rankings 2010 is CQ Press’s popular rankings reference book that makes it easy to compare states in education, health, crime, transportation, taxes, government finance, and so much more. State Rankings has become a favorite resource on reference shelves throughout the United States and around the world. The editors have compiled useful statistics that would otherwise take an enormous amount of time to research. In more than 550 user-friendly tables, State Rankings 2010 compares every state and Washington, DC, in the following areas: Agriculture Population Economy Environment Government finance Crime Education Geography Social welfare Defence Health Energy Housing The formula and methodology are discussed in a narrative chapter allowing researchers to cite statistics with context.

 

Welcome

Welcome to PTC Libraries' Health, Fitness, and Wellbeing Guide.  We have collected some great research tools and information for anyone interested in learning more about these topics.  This guide will be updated regularly, so be sure to visit often or add the RSS feed link to your favorite reader.

You may ask for help by using our Ask a Librarian service or contact me by using the information listed under my profile.

Good luck with your research!

 

Databases for Additional Research

If you would like to learn more about specific issues, use the following databases:

Health Source: Consumer Edition - (EBSCOHost) Follow the link, then click on EBSCOHost Web to choose your database. Information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. (Provided by LSTA funds administered by the AR State Library)

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition - (EBSCOHost) Follow the link, then click on EBSCOHost Web to choose your database. Focusing on medical disciplines with emphasis on journal coverage of nursing and allied health issues. (Provided by LSTA funds administered by the AR State Library)

Academic OneFile - (Gale) Peer-reviewed articles offering over 5,400 full-text journal titles, extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature, and more.

Academic Search Elite - (EBSCOHost) Follow the link, then click on EBSCOHost Web to choose your database. Multi-disciplinary database offering full text for nearly 1,850 scholarly journals. Covering social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical science

LexisNexis Academic - Medical news, articles from medical and health journals and Medline® abstracts. s, and ethnic studies. (Provided by LSTA funds administered by the AR State Library)

 

General Health Videos

Creating all-around wellness - Films for the Humanities & Sciences
Call Number: Main: 1st Floor Multimedia Shelves - RA427.8 .C74 2004

Health Care, Medicine, and Science
Call Number: Main: 1st Floor Multimedia Shelves - R690 .H434 2009
Publication Date: 2009

Your Librarian

Profile Image
Laura Austin
Contact Info
Outreach Librarian
PTC Ottenheimer Library
North Little Rock, AR
501-812-2811
501-812-2272 (main number)
laustin@pulaskitech.edu
Send Email
My current favorites...:
Knitting, Sewing, and Reading
What I'm reading now...:
The Stephanie Plum books by Janet Evanovich
The last movie I liked...:
The Avengers
My dream vacation...:
Tour of Italy
What I wish I had known in college...:
A calendar can (and should) be your best friend.
 

What do you think of this guide?

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Ottenheimer-South Library
(501)812-2878

Ottenheimer (Main) Library
(501)812-2272

LR-West Library
(501)771-6071

Have a question? Ask A Librarian.


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip