Skip to main content

University of Arkansas-Pulaski Technical College

Ottenheimer Libraries

Libraries Home | Ask a Librarian | Find Books | Find Articles

Databases: General and Multidisciplinary

General and Multidisciplinary

Academic OneFile - (Gale) Peer-reviewed articles offering over 5,400 full-text journal titles, extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature, and more.

Academic Search Elite - (EBSCOHost) Multi-disciplinary database offering full text for nearly 1,850 scholarly journals. Covering social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.

Academic Video Online - Academic Video Online is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers more than 62,000 video titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.

ACLS E-Books - The American Council of Learned Societies' Humanities E-Book Collection has over 1,550 fully searchable books on subjects across the humanities.

Associates Programs Source - (EBSCOhost) Full-text journals and books specifically for the research needs of two-year college students. Covering computer & data processing, CAD, cosmetology, paralegal studies, travel & tourism, and many other fields. (Provided by LSTA funds administered by the AR State Library.)

Credo Reference - A general reference collection with over 490 titles, covering every major subject

eBook Collection - (EBSCOhost) Provides online access to full-text books covering a wide range of subjects. (Provided by LSTA funds administered by the AR State Library)

eBook Community College Collection - (EBSCOhost) This multidisciplinary collection covers topics across programs and fields of study offered in Community Colleges as well as key subject areas such as the Humanities and Social Sciences, Business, Science & Technology, and Literary Criticism. The complexity of the information available in this collection varies from introductory to higher-level content.

Films on Demand - digital video collection with more than 5,500 educational titles in dozens of subject areas. Includes the titles in the Films for the Humanities & Sciences and Cambridge Educational collections, and the skills-based technical and career video titles from the Meridian and Shopware collections. Users have the ability to organize and bookmark clips, personalize folders, and share playlists.

JSTOR - An archival database of journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.  The collection includes Arts and Sciences I-IV.  Journal issues are not current; most titles are available after a 5-year delay.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context - (Gale) A social issues database providing viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.

ProQuest - Contains over 2,500 magazines and scholarly journals on a wide range of subjects.

SIRS Issues Researcher - (ProQuest) Provides argumentative and analytical articles on current issues and hot topics. Although a K-12 resource, this database is useful for college students as well.

Newspapers

America's News - (Trial ends December 31, 2017) Database of national newspapers includes the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette from 1994 - present as well as many other local Arkansas newspapers. Find current, diverse perspectives on topics related to controversial issues, the environment, health, education, science, the arts, literature, business, economics, criminal justice, and more from a variety of current and retrospective news media including newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, periodicals, videos and web-only content.

Canadian Newstand - (ProQuest Central) Articles, columns, editorials, and features from over over 190 Canadian newspapers from Canada's leading publishers.

Ethnic NewsWatch - (ProQuest) Includes current journals, magazines, and newspapers from ethnic and independent presses. Content covers 1990-present, with specialized coverage of the following ethnic categories: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic; Jewish; Native People. It is updated daily with new content and contains over 2 million full text articles.

LexisNexis Academic - National and international newspapers; legal and medical research; and reference (country and state profiles, company profiles, polls and surveys, biography, and quotations).

Newspaper Source - (EBSCOHost) Regional U.S. newspapers, international newspapers, newswires, newspaper columns, and indexing and abstracts for national newspapers.

Ottenheimer-North Library
(501)812-2272

Ottenheimer-South Library
(501)812-2878


Have a question? Ask A Librarian.