Skip to main content
University of Arkansas-Pulaski Technical College
Libraries Home | Ask a Librarian | Find Books | Find Articles
Peer-reviewed articles offering over 5,400 full-text journal titles, extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature, and more.
Includes current journals, magazines, and newspapers from ethnic and independent presses. Content covers 1990-present, with specialized coverage of the following ethnic categories: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic; Jewish; Native People. It is updated daily with new content and contains over 2 million full text articles.
Ethnographic Video Online
streaming videos on the study of human culture and behavior. Contains documentaries, footage from working anthropologists and ethnographers, and select feature films. Most videos include field notes, liner notes, filmmaker biographies, related articles, and study guides.
An archival database of journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. The collection includes Arts and Sciences I-IV. Journal issues are not current; most titles are available after a 5-year delay.
National and International newspapers, including the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette. Legal and medical research and reference (country and state profiles, polls and surveys, biography, and quotations).
PQ Social Science Journals
Coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work and sociology.
Articles from international publications focusing on sociology and social work, including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction and more.
Contains over 2,500 magazines and scholarly journals in a wide range of subjects.
Google Scholar is a great resource to see what type of scholarly articles have been written on your topic. While you may not be able to read the full-text article through Google Scholar, you can always search our databases to see if the full-text is available through our subscriptions.
Journals vs. Trade vs. Magazines
Here's a guide to help you determine the article you found is a scholarly, trade, or magazine source.
||Articles reporting research, methodology, and theory
||Short articles about a certain business or industry
||Current events and general interest articles
||Share research and scholarship with academic community
||To inform those in a business or industry about relevant news, trends, and products
||To inform, entertain, and elicit emotion regarding personalities, news, and general interests
||Researchers, professors; credentials provided
||Members of a specific business, industry, or organization; staff writers
||Non-professionals; Frequently journalists; may or may not have expertise
||Scholars and researchers including college students
|Editorial board; some are peer-reviewed; bibliographies
||Editors working for publication; might have short bibliography; not peer-reviewed
||Editors working for publication; not experts
||Few, if any
||Moderate; geared toward products for industry professionals
||Heavy; numerous glossy ads and photos for lots of products
||Plain; black and white graphics/illustrations supporting findings
||Glossy, colorful, and numerous photos
||Glossy and large with lots of color pictures; catchy titles
||Quarterly or semi-annually
||Usually weekly or monthly
||Usually weekly or monthly
||None or very short bibliographies
||Journal of Abnormal Psychology;
Time; Health; Entertainment Weekly; Sports Illustrated
Related Guides for Research Help
Ask a Librarian
Click on the picture above to contact a librarian.
Have a question? Ask A Librarian.