Skip to main content
University of Arkansas-Pulaski Technical College
Libraries Home | Ask a Librarian | Find Books | Find Articles
The Internet contains an abundance of information. So much information that it can be overwhelming. With all this information available it's important to be able to tell which websites are trustworthy. Below are some things you can look for when determining a site's trustworthiness.
- Who is the author? What their credentials and are they qualified to discuss the subject?
- How current is the information? On what date was the website last updated? Older information may no longer be accurate.
- What is their point of view? What type of bias are they portraying? Every one has a bias/point of view but it's important to investigate both sides.
- How accurate is the information? Can what is being presented by the author(s) be verified? Are there spelling, grammar, or typographical errors? This may require comparing other sources.
- Who is the audience?
- What domain is being used? Domains that contain '.gov' or '.edu' tend to be more reliable than those with '.com' or '.net.' This is not to say '.coms' or '.nets' are always unreliable.
If you are still unsure, PTC Libraries have a website evaluation worksheet that you can fill out to help you determine whether or not a website should be trusted.
American Institute of Physics
The American Institute of Physics' website provides news, publications, information on different programs, and much more information.
Features news, biographies, podcasts, research links, and images.
Features free online resource collections supporting faculty, students, and teachers in Physics and Astronomy Education.
Created by the Physics in Society team at the Institute of Physics. Features news, study tips, and a searchable databases for websites, videos, and experiments.
Library of Congress Science Resources
A list of web resources related to science compiled by the Library of Congress.
A portal to science information from U.S. government agencies including research and developmental results.
One of the most popular science news web sites with over 65,000 research articles, 15,000 images, 2,500 encyclopedia entries, 1,500 book reviews, and hundreds of educational videos.
The official website for the National Aeronautics and Space Administration. Features news and resources for educators and students as well as the general public.
Sponsored by the Institute of Physics, the site includes news, views and information for the global physics community.
The SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System
The SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System (ADS) is a Digital Library portal for researchers in Astronomy and Physics, operated by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (SAO) under a NASA grant. The ADS maintains three bibliographic databases containing more than 11.0 million records covering publications in Astronomy and Astrophysics, Physics, and the arXiv e-prints.
Portal To The Universe
Created by UNESCO and International Astronomical Union, this site provides astronomy news.
The official website for CERN where the European Organization for Nuclear Research, physicists and engineers conduct research.
Khan Academy: Physics
Educational videos explaining physics principles.
Eric Weisstein's World of Physics
Part of Eric Weisstein's online encyclopedia, World of Science.
The Feynman Lectures on Physics
Caltech and The Feynman Lectures Website have created an up-to-date free to read online edition of The Feynman Lectures on Physics. *Please note: this edition is only free to read online. To download all or any section for any purpose violates copyright law.*
Ask a Librarian
Click on the picture above to contact a librarian.
Have a question? Ask A Librarian.