Skip to main content
University of Arkansas-Pulaski Technical College
Libraries Home | Ask a Librarian | Find Books | Find Articles
Search the Online Catalog
You can search for both print and electronic books through the Library's online catalog. Type the keyword(s) in the search bar below and then hit 'Search'. Keywords can be any combination of words from the author, title, or subject fields. Examples are:
- treat* and cancer (will retrieve treat, treating, treatment, and so on COMBINED with cancer)
- Alexander Fleming (books by or about Alexander Fleming)
Tip: Keep in mind that you only need a few keywords for any search. The more words you enter the fewer results you will find. Try to limit your keywords to 3 or less.
Additionally, you don't not have to search by keyword. You can also search by Title, Author, Subject, Journal Title, or Call Number. Keyword searching is the best choice though when looking for a resources on a topic.
Browsing the Shelves
If you'd prefer to peruse our shelves rather than search our catalog, most chemistry books can be located under the following Library of Congress call numbers beginning with QD. Further specific subclass locations are:
- Chemistry: QD 1-999
- General: QD 1-65
- Analytical Chemistry: QD 71-142
- Inorganic Chemistry: QD 146-197
- Organic Chemistry: QD 241-441
- Biochemistry: QD 415-436
- Physical & Theoretical Chemistry: QD 450-801
- Crystallography: QD 901-99
Additional psychology locations outside of the BF call numbers:
- Neurophysiology and neuropsychology: QP 351-495
- Psychiatry: 435-571
- Psychoanalysis (Medicine): RC 500-510
- Psychopathology: RC 512-569.5
You can also browse the catalog for books and DVDs using these subject keywords.
Chemistry Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
EBSCOhost eBook Databases
You no longer have to come to the Library to read books in our collection!
EBSCOhost eBook Collection eBook Community College Collection
- Available off-campus using your myPTC username and password
- Provides online access to full-text books coering a wide range of subjects
- Over 20,000 titles that were originally published on paper but are now available online
- Read directly from your computer screen
- Print up to 60 pages (Note: There is a 20 page print limit in the Library)
- Create PDFs of chapters or page ranges (up to 60 pages)
- Download eBooks to your computer, Apple or Android devices, and Kindle for up to 2 weeks!
Downloading eBooks requires signing up for a free MyEBSCOhost account as well as additional viewing requirements. The viewing requirements for different devices are:
- Computer: Adobe® Digital Editions 1.7.1 or higher is required for offline viewing (To sign up for and download this software is free.)
- Apple or Android devices: Bluefire Reader is recommended (This app can be downloaded from your respective App Store for free.)
- Kindle: PDFs can be created in the eBook Full Text view and transferred using Send To Kindle (Instructions on how to use the Send to Kindle feature can be found here)
Instructions for downloading eBooks to various devices:
Interesting Books and eBooks Related to Chemistry
The Joy of Chemistry
Call Number: QD35 .C56 2005 (Main: 2nd Floor Circulation)
This book challenges the perception of chemistry as too difficult to bother with and too clinical to be any fun. Cathy Cobb and Monty L. Fetterolf, both professional chemists and experienced educators, introduce readers to the magic, elegance, and, yes, joy of chemistry. From the fascination of fall foliage and fireworks, to the functioning of smoke detectors and computers, to the fundamentals of digestion (as when good pizza goes bad!), the authors illustrate the concepts of chemistry in terms of everyday experience, using familiar materials.
Below is a list of chemistry related books and ebooks the library has in the collection. In order to access ebooks off-campus you will need to use your student ID # and 8 digit birthday to log in. (Example: Log In: 123456789 / Password: 01011900)
A Guide to the Elements
Call Number: QD466 .S78 2012 (Main: 2nd Floor Circulation)
Newly updated throughout, and now covering 118 elements, this crystal-clear guide to the periodic table illuminates the basic concepts of chemistry as it traces the history and development of our knowledge of the material world.In this fascinating volume, Albert Stwertka makes complex ideas and terms easily understandable, drawing upon engaging historical anecdotes and everyday examples to clarify the text, which is complemented by numerous illustrations, many in full color. In addition to the new elements, Stwertka has brought the information about the elements in the second edition up-to-date, based on the latest research. Bringing the periodic table into the 21st century, this engrossing guide to the elements will fascinate everyone curious about the basic building blocks of the material world.
Chemistry for Dummies
Call Number: QD31.3 .M66 2011 (Ottenheimer-South: Circulation Shelves)
Chemistry For Dummies gets you rolling with all the basics of matter and energy, atoms and molecules, acids and bases, and much more! Tracks a typical chemistry course, giving you step-by-step lessons you can easily grasp Packed with basic chemistry principles and time-saving tips from chemistry professors Real-world examples provide everyday context for complicated topics. Full of modern, relevant examples and updated to mirror current teaching methods and classroom protocols, Chemistry For Dummies puts you on the fast-track to mastering the basics of chemistry.
Call Number: QD41 .G65 2003eb (ebook)
Every book in this series is a pared-down, simplified, and tightly focused version of its predecessor. With an emphasis on clarity and brevity, each new title features a streamlined and updated format and the absolute essence of the subject, presented in a concise and readily understandable form. Graphic elements such as sidebars, reader-alert icons, and boxed highlights stress selected points from the text, illuminate keys to learning, and give students quick pointers to the essentials. Designed to appeal to underprepared students and readers turned off by dense text Cartoons, sidebars, icons, and other graphic pointers get the material across fast Concise text focuses on the essence of the subject Deliver expert help from teachers who are authorities in their fields Perfect for last-minute test preparation.
Why There's Antifreeze in Your Toothpaste
Call Number: QD471 .F565 2008 (Main: 2nd Floor Circulation)
A Selection of the Scientific American Book Club Explaining why antifreeze is a component of toothpaste and how salt works in shampoo, this fascinating handbook delves into the chemistry of everyday household products. This informative resource can serve curious readers as a basic primer to commercial chemistry or as an indexed reference for specific compounds found on a product label. Grouped according to type, these chemical descriptions will dissolve common misunderstandings and help make consumers more product savvy.
Let Them Eat Flax
Call Number: QD37 .S39 2005 (Ottenheimer-South: Circulation Shelves)
By asking questions such as Is your orange juice pasteurized? or Did the lady who whipped up the icing on your cake wear false fingernails? this book sorts hokum from genuine science when it comes to food safety. Investigating everything from the health benefits of chocolate and oxygenated water to the causes of food poisoning and the healing power of prayer, short commentaries use wit and humor to debunk folklore and misconceptions. Indicating which food studies can be trusted, this guide provides the knowledge needed to buy, store, and cook food without risking life and limb.
Vanity, Vitality, and Virility
Call Number: QD75.22 .E47 2004 (Main: 2nd Floor Circulation)
What is the secret of shower cleaners? How does the dangerous explosive nitroglycerin ward off heart attacks? And what medicines, usually prescribed for other purposes, are said to produce the ultimate orgasm? In Vanity, Vitality, and Virility, award-winning science writer John Emsley offers a fascinating behind-the-scenes account of 30 chemicals that we use everyday to make ourselves more beautiful, to improve our diet and sexual pleasure, to kill germs, and to ward off depression and other mental illnesses. Indeed, the book is packed with useful information and easy-to-digest science, and Emsley relates it all with a light touch that delights in the odd fact or amusing anecdote. Thus we learn of the "vitamin C tights" sold in Japan to make your legs more beautiful (they don't work) and of the whimsical Hungarian scientist who first isolated vitamin C and wanted to name it "godnose"--because he had no idea what the compound was. We discover that Cleopatra was right to bath in milk, which is filled with alpha-hydroxy acids. And we read about the unforgettable British researcher who demonstrated a powerful new drug for male erections at a Las Vegas convention--injecting himself with the compound and then "displaying the results" to a stunned lecture hall. As with the much-loved Nature's Building Blocks, in John Emsley's hands, chemistry comes alive. Anyone curious about the ingredients in the products we use, and everyone fascinated with science, will be enthralled by this book.
Chemistry - the Impure Science
Call Number: QD31.3 .B455 2008 (Main: 2nd Floor Circulation)
This book uses history to introduce central issues in the philosophy of chemistry. Mobilizing the theme of impurity, it explores the tradition of chemistry's negative image. It then argues for the positive philosophical value of chemistry, reflecting its characteristic practical engagement with the material world. The book concludes with some ethical reflections concerning chemistry's orientations in the twenty-first century. The authors have previously both offered significant contributions to the history and philosophy of chemistry. Book jacket.
Have a question? Ask A Librarian.