Skip to main content
University of Arkansas-Pulaski Technical College
Libraries Home | Ask a Librarian | Find Books | Find Articles
The Internet contains an abundance of information. So much information that it can be overwhelming. With all this information available it's important to be able to tell which websites are trustworthy. Below are some things you can look for when determining a site's trustworthiness.
- Who is the author? What their credentials and are they qualified to discuss the subject?
- How current is the information? On what date was the website last updated? Older information may no longer be accurate.
- What is their point of view? What type of bias are they portraying? Every one has a bias/point of view but it's important to investigate both sides.
- How accurate is the information? Can what is being presented by the author(s) be verified? Are there spelling, grammar, or typographical errors? This may require comparing other sources.
- Who is the audience?
- What domain is being used? Domains that contain '.gov' or '.edu' tend to be more reliable than those with '.com' or '.net.' This is not to say '.coms' or '.nets' are always unreliable.
If you are still unsure, PTC Libraries have a website evaluation worksheet that you can fill out to help you determine whether or not a website should be trusted.
The site features a drag and drop game where players are tasked with assembling an organ system and making their way through the nervous, skeletal, excretory, and reproductive systems. The site also contains a set of case studies about the various conditions that each system may encounter over the lifespan. The site is a fine tool for teaching basic concepts of human physiology and anatomy.
BBC-Human Body & Mind
An interactive website that provides human anatomy puzzles/games and information related to the human body including muscle groups, organs, skeleton, etc.
PennMedicine: Medical Animation Library
The staff at the University of Pennsylvania's School of Medicine has created this remarkable set of over 75 different animations and videos designed for medical professionals and the general public. The items here are divided into topics that include Allergy and immunology, Neurology, Dermatology, Pregnancy and Embryology, and "Surgery." The site also includes a link to a set of "Encyclopedia Articles" which deal with a range of related topics and which can be used in the classroom as well.
A portal to science information from U.S. government agencies including research and developmental results.
Library of Congress Science Resources
A list of web resources related to science compiled by the Library of Congress.
Encyclopedia of Life
A database of information providing information on all known species. Includes photographs.
Created by the University of Utah, this educational site provides information on genetics, bioscience, and related topics.
Human Genome Project
"A repository for historical documents detailing the history of the HGP from the project's beginnings in 1989 until it was completed in 2003."
Tree of Life
"The Tree of Life Web Project (ToL) is a collaborative effort of biologists and nature enthusiasts from around the world. On more than 10,000 World Wide Web pages, the project provides information about biodiversity, the characteristics of different groups of organisms, and their evolutionary history."
Lectures, videos, and interactive modules, and more by the Howard Hughes Medical Institute.
The Cell: An Image Library
"This library is a public and easily accessible resource database of images, videos, and animations of cells, capturing a wide diversity of organisms, cell types, and cellular processes."
Video tutorials covering topics in biology.
Atlas of the Human Body
From the American Medical Association
Ask a Librarian
Click on the picture above to contact a librarian.
Have a question? Ask A Librarian.